Gifts of the Holy Spirit

There is an ancient tradition in the Church of speaking about the seven gifts of the Holy Spirit. The Custom can be traced to Isaiah 11:1-3, and it sets down the following gifts:

Wisdom: The power to see all things as God sees them.

Understanding: The gift of understanding God's revelation.

Counsel: The ability to see just what we should do in a difficult situation.

Inward Strength: The power to carry through joyfully what we know to be right.

True Godliness: The gift of knowing the truth; knowing the Father and Jesus the Savior whom he sent among us.

Fear of the Lord: The gift which enables us to be willing to respond to the impulses of the Holy Spirit and gives us a fear of being separated from God.

Itís important to remember, though, that being a Christian is the first gift of the Holy Spirit, and that each person has special gifts which the Holy Spirit uses for the good of the whole Church.

The Prodigal God
A Story Of Two Brothers
 Click title to read more